By Their own words, the Word-Faith Teachers condemn themselves

I always knew the teachings of Kenneth Hagin and Kenneth Copeland were un-Biblical and wrong, from the time I first heard about them around 1979-1983, as a young Christian.  One of the problems is that other Christians would not believe me when I would point out the heretical things that they would say and teach.

D. R. McConnell wrote a ground breaking book, A Different Gospel, in 1988, where he showed that Kenneth Hagin plagiarized his teachings verbatim from E. W. Kenyon and  “New Thought” / “mind over matter” movements.   Others like Gordon Fee, Charles Farah, Bruce Baron had warned about the problems with the Prosperity Gospel.

Walter Martin, the founder of Christian Research Institute (CRI) and the original “Bible Answer Man”, and author of the standard text book on Cults, The Kingdom of the Cults, warned about the Word-Faith Movement and Positive Confession/Name it, Claim it theology.  I remember when Walter Martin had been talking about this problem on his radio shows in 1987-1989, up until his death.   Martin  first started warning about the dangers of the “Positive Confession” teachings in 1980.

Then Hank Hanegraaff came out with his book Christianity in Crisis in 1993.  I was amazed that even then, people would not believe me when I quoted from it and read from it.  I do not have his new book, Christianity in Crisis in the 21st Century. [I have since obtained a copy after I wrote this. (in 2017)It is good documentation of other “word of faith” false teachers that were not in the 1993 edition.] I don’t know if it an updated version of the 1993 book, or all new material.

Then Hank put together a 2 part cassette tape series of these Word-Faith teachers in their own words – recordings from their own sermons.

Well, thank God someone has compiled many of these quotes by these heretics on You Tube, since all my cassette players are long gone, either broken by my kids or me, or time and wear and tear years ago, or thrown away after the dominance of CDs and MP3’s and I-Pods.

Listen for yourself to these false teachers spout the most outrageous, heretical, cruel, and goofy things.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Others have also written on the problems of the Word-Faith Theology:

Robert Bowman, The Word-Faith Controversy:  Understanding the Health and Wealth Gospel.  Baker Books, 2001.

David W. Jones and Russell S. Woodbridge, Health, Wealth, and Happiness:  Has the Prosperity Gospel Overshadowed the Gospel of Christ?  Kregel, 2011.  (This one is very good as it offers positive chapters on what the Bible does teach about wealth, health, and suffering, with the necessary chapters of quotations of the word-faith heretics.

Justin Peters discusses problems with the Word of Faith movement.   Justin Peters has an excellent ministry and his DVD, “A Call for Discernment” (now updated and renamed, “Clouds without Water”) is a comprehensive exposure of the whole Word of Faith Movement.

About Ken Temple

I am a follower of Jesus Christ. I am a sinner who has been saved by the grace of God alone (Ephesians 2:8-9), through faith alone (Galatians 2:16; Romans 3:28; 4:1-16), in Christ alone (John 14:6). But a true faith does not stay alone, it should result in change, fruit, good works, and deeper levels of repentance and hatred of my own sins of selfishness and pride. I am not better than you! I still make mistakes and sin, but the Lord is working on me, conforming me to His character. (Romans 8:28-29; 2 Corinthians 3:16-18) When I do sin, I hate the sin as it is an affront to God, and seek His forgiveness in repentance. (Mark 1:15; 2 Corinthians 7:7-10; Colossians 3:5-16 ) Praise God for His love for sinners (Romans 5:8), shown by the voluntary coming of Christ and His freely laying down His life for us (John 10:18), becoming flesh/human (John 1:1-5; 1:14; Philippians 2:5-8), dying for sins of people from all nations, tribes, and cultures (Revelation 5:9), on the cross, in history, rising from the dead (Romans 10:9-10; Matthew 28, Mark 16:1-8; Luke 24; John 20-21; 1 Corinthians chapter 15). His resurrection from the dead proved that Jesus is the Messiah, the eternal Son of God, the word of God from eternity past; and that He was all the gospels say He was and that He is truth and the life and the way to salvation. (John 14:6)
This entry was posted in Apologetics, Word of Faith heresies. Bookmark the permalink.